People Over Profits - Protect Your Legal Rights!
Seal of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida
The Florida Bar - Board Certified

Monroe County, Florida

The county of Monroe is located in the state of Florida. The population was 82,874 as of the 2020 census. Key West is the county seat. Established on July 3, 1823 after Commodore Porter landed in April 1823. In 1828, the city of Key West was formed. It had a population of 517 people by 1830. By 1829, 258 acres had been laid out as a 64-block village. The population grew from 2,645 in 1850 to 18,080 in 1890. As a marine community and the county seat, Key West grew.

Although there is little space to conduct an in-depth analysis of the southeast mainland, it is vital because it was territory of Monroe County for 13 years. According to mythology, when Spain realized Florida was drifting away from her control, she began awarding it as a reward to chosen residents. However, there is evidence that Spain sought to attract colonization in locations apart from St. Augustine in order to keep Florida.

Approximately two-thirds of what inhabitants refer to as "mainland Monroe" is unoccupied to the Everglades National Park and the Big Cypress National Preserve in the northeastern interior. The Cape Sable Census County Division, as it is formally known, is almost completely depopulated. This area accounted for 86.9% of the county's total area (866.25 square miles out of 983 square miles) but just 0.075 percent of its population, according to the census of 2000. Census Tract 9701 in Monroe County, Florida is the region in question, according to the Census Bureau. Only the Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area in central Alaska, with a population density of 0.0693/sq mi, would have a lower population density if it were a distinct county or county-equivalent in the U.S counties.

Principal cities, towns, and villages within Monroe County:

  • Bahia Honda Key
  • Bay Point
  • Big Coppitt Key
  • Big Pine Key
  • Cudjoe Key
  • Duck Key
  • Everglades
  • Flamingo
  • Islamorada
  • Key Colony Beach
  • Key Largo
  • Key West
  • Layton
  • Marathon
  • Marquesas Keys
  • North Key Largo
  • Stock Island
  • Sugarloaf Shores
  • Tavernier

In 2010, 77.57 percent spoke English as their first language, followed by 17.56 percent who spoke Spanish, 0.96 percent who spoke French Creole (mostly Haitian Creole), 0.74 percent who spoke French, and 0.50 percent who spoke Russian. In total, 22.43 percent of the population spoke a language other than English as their primary language.

Key West, Big Pine, Marathon, Key Largo, and Islamorada are all part of the Monroe County Public Library system, which serves inhabitants of the Florida Keys. The Monroe County Public Library offers a variety of events and services to the community, including job search resources. The history of the Keys is preserved through a program available to clients. The library began digitizing historic pictures of the Florida Keys in 2010. For $30, you can get an annual visitor's card. PCs with internet and word processing capabilities are available for use in the library.

Everyone has access to the library's free Wi-Fi. The Miami-Dade County subregional library of the Florida Bureau of Braille and Talking Books Library services the Monroe County Public Library.

If you or someone you care about has been injured in Monroe County, contact the Law Office of Ruth E. Johnson immediately.

Our office handles all accident and personal injury cases including auto accidents, slip, and fall injuries, workers compensation claims, wrongful death claims, and other injury claims in Monroe County.

Remember when injured you get to choose your legal counsel, so have an experienced, aggressive, knowledgeable team that aims to get you the most compensation for your losses. Choose the Law Office of Ruth E. Johnson.


Links to Important Resources in Monroe County: