People Over Profits - Protect Your Legal Rights!
Seal of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida
The Florida Bar - Board Certified

Homestead Workers' Compensation

In Florida, almost all workers are eligible for workers' compensation. You are eligible for workers' compensation if you meet the following criteria: you were an employee (not an independent contractor), you were hurt or ill while carrying out work-related duties, and the illness or injury occurred while you were employed. You may also be eligible for workers' compensation even if you weren't at your workplace when the accident occurred.

If you're like most individuals, you've been making your own attempts to communicate with both your employer and the insurance provider. It may have been simple at first for you to get medical care, receive compensation, and interact with your company. Unfortunately, sometimes the issues appear quickly after. You may be certain that we can assist you whether the process is just getting started for you since you were recently injured or you have hit a wall attempting to handle it on your own.

Workers' Compensation Benefits

When you are injured at work in Florida, workers' compensation pays for your medical bills and a portion of your lost income as follows:

  • Medical Expenses: As long as it is authorized, this should cover payment for all of your medical care. This covers things like doctor and hospital visits, physical therapy, testing, prescription drugs, prosthetic devices, attendant care, and more. In cases where it's medically required, you can get treatment from both your primary care physician and specialists. Mileage to and from the doctor's office is also covered by workers' compensation.
  • Temporary Partial Disability: Are obtainable once your doctor has given you the go-ahead to resume light duty. You are eligible to receive TPD payments for up to 104 weeks if your limited assignment pays you less than 80% of your usual salary.
  • Temporary Total Disability: When an injury prevents you from working, your employer will pay this benefit. Two-thirds of your average weekly pay, up to the state maximum, is the benefit amount.
  • Permanent Total Disability Benefits: If a workplace illness or on-the-job accident prevents you from working again, you may be eligible to receive compensation benefits for the rest of your life, supposing your condition never gets better.
  • Death Benefits: You may also be eligible for up to $150,000 in death benefits if your loved one passed away as a result of a work-related sickness or accident if it happened within a year of the accident or after five consecutive years of impairment. Compensation for dependents and funeral expenses of up to $7,500.
Contact a Homestead Workers' Compensation Attorney

Your employer and their insurance provider might come up with a variety of grounds to refuse or cancel benefits. You need an expert on your side to ensure that you are treated properly and obtain the benefits you require and deserve. This is exactly what we accomplish at the Law Office of Ruth E. Johnson. Call us at 305-720-2086 if you were injured on the job in a Homestead workplace accident or developed an occupational symptoms or disease. We provide a FREE consultation to discuss your case and guide you on your choices, and we only charge a fee if we are successful in obtaining compensation for you.